Formspring? My first blog rant. Mark this day in history.

May 18, 2010 at 9:26 PM 1 comment

I don’t have my own formspring. I will never get my own formspring. Frankly, if you are someone who is constantly talked about behind your back, I highly recommend you don’t get one.

I know formspring has been around for a while now, it seems like the sudden fad is waning a little; reassuring news at most.

Don’t get me wrong, I think formspring can be a hilarious source of entertainment. I’ve “asked” a few questions myself -or rather posted statements- with the intention of the recipient knowing who I was. It was fun to see their responses. And some questions are funny. And the responses are even funnier.

However, it is not fun when someone posts something incredibly degrading hiding behind a this-is-completely-anonymous-so-you-won’t-know-it’s-me shield. I don’t really understand why you would open a door for something like that to happen. I’m not saying that I think lots of people would post things like that on mine, but there are many people who have had bouts of frustration and hurt because of what others posted. And why would you want people to see what they posted? It’s just embarrassing, and makes the uninvolved readers cringe. Especially if what they are saying is true. Because it seems from my observations that a great deal of it is not entirely false.

People are mean. We are basically bad. By God’s grace we can escape our evil tendencies and actually have morals. Prime example. Hitler. End of story. You still don’t believe me? Here’s an example. How old were you when you told your first lie? I told my first lie pretty much as early as I could talk. My parents tell me it was the most heartbreaking moment ever. I think I lied about not eating a piece of chocolate when I still had chocolate on my teeth, and it was all over my shirt. Did my parents ever teach me to lie? No. Did I see them lie? If I did, I certainly didn’t know they were.

Here’s another example. How old were you when you first hit someone? I’m pretty sure I smacked my sister a lot when I was little. You see toddlers hitting each other all the time. Did I see anyone hit each other? At age 3 or 4, probably not. It was my own decision to hit my sister.

So back to formsping. I know many of you guys think I’m overreacting, and nothing’s wrong with yours (be thankful, the people you know love you). But when I see some that only have like 10 or 11 questions on them and at least 4 or 5 of them are degrading, it just makes me cringe.

This isn’t just about the poster, this is about you too. Why would you choose to respond to something like that AND post it for others to see? Can you not control what appears on the page and what doesn’t? Please have something called self-esteem! Grow a backbone and don’t succumb to this! What, people think you’re weak for choosing not to answer those? PLEASE. How can choosing to be a positive person make you weak? GET REAL. You’re weak for choosing to say something to those. And if you try to fight back, what’s the use? It’s only going to cause tension, and they will bite back seeing you’re vulnerable. Nip it in the rear and set it on fire. Don’t let them have the upper hand again.

And don’t you get angry about these nasty posts. YOU are the one who made the formspring. YOU are the one who gave them a portal to hurt you in secrecy. And YOU are the one choosing to respond and encourage them to fight back which hurts YOU even more.

So if you have a formspring, use it wisely. Use it to entertain, not to embarrass. If you let people walk all over you, grow a backbone. If you agree to what they said, don’t hate yourself and do something about it (OUTSIDE of formspring) to change their minds. Because I’m pretty sure the people posting won’t change anytime soon. If you genuinely have a problem with a person, just talk to them in person. If they blow up on you when you were nice enough to tell them in privacy, remind them that you did just that.

————FINISHED. I feel better now. Thanks for listening and not interrupting.

Entry filed under: Everyday ramblings..

Be the Reds! Babies!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Woornetog  |  May 25, 2010 at 6:47 PM

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


If you don't have a WordPress, enter in your email address and you'll get my updates!

Join 4 other followers

This Month’s Thoughts

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

